Northeastern State University Thompson House

The history of Northeastern State University (NSU) dates back to the founding of the Cherokee National Female Seminary in 1851. In 1909, the Oklahoma State Legislature created Northeastern State Normal School on the site of present-day Seminary Hall, which today serves as the campus centerpiece. Recently renovated to utilize 21st century technology, Seminary Hall's impressive architecture and stately trees make it a must see on a Tahlequah tour.

Nearby, the John Vaughan Library is open to the public year-round. The library's special collections contain a wealth of data on Native American and regional history, and include a Genealogy Room with materials available to individuals tracing their ancestry.

Come to NSU in the summer to enjoy live musical performances by the River City Players and Downtown Country Players. From big band to Broadway to classic country to western swing, there's something for every musical taste. Shows run mid-June through mid-August. For show information 
call (918) 458-2323.

Follow your senses to historic Thompson House, where the clock has moved back a century to a Victorian home. Built in 1882 for Dr. Joseph Thompson, the house was rescued from demolition in 
1984. After countless volunteer hours, the Queen Anne Carpenter Gothic home has been restored to its former glory, with every detail true to period.

The annual Victorian Christmas Event is a fundraiser allowing the public to enjoy the house's unique beauty, while contributing to its continued maintenance and restoration. For a $1 donation, visitors can buy crafts and goodies. Crafters from all over the region display Christmas wares and holiday 
decorations throughout the house. An annual favorite is the selection of decorated eggs, from tiny to enormous. Don't forget to try the famous Thompson House pepper relish.

Throughout the year the Thompson House is available for group tours and visits by appointment.

   
George M. Murrell Home Cherokee Supreme Court Building

This home was built by George Murrell in the new Cherokee Nation about 1845. Murrell was a native Virginian who married Minerva Ross in 1834.

Minerva was a member of a wealthy mixed-blood Cherokee/Scottish family, and a niece of Chief John Ross. The home is the only remaining Antebellum Plantation home in modern-day Oklahoma, and stands as a reminder of the high lifestyle practiced by a few in the Cherokee Nation before the Civil War. It contains original and period artifacts and furnishings and is currently undergoing restoration.

This structure was built in 1884 by James S. Pierce to house the Cherokee National Supreme Court.  The Supreme and District courts both held sessions here for many years. The Cherokee Advocate was printed in this building after the original Advocate building burned.

Return To Top